top of page
My Work: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophia Baker

Girls Like Me

To the girls who plan conversations

days, weeks, months, years in advance.

Conversations that need to happen, want to happen,

may never happen. You lie awake at night talking

in your head to the fictional, future, imaginary,

hoped beyond hoped for lover:


“I need you to be honest with me. Not just about you

but about me, even the small things. Tell me you don’t

like the color of my shirt. That I should probably brush

my hair. That the way I said that one thing that one time

was out of line and you wished I would apologize.

Tell me or I will never know, and things may spiral out

of control.”


To the girls like me and so many others in this

generation who are told that we need to be

spontaneous but well-rehearsed

quirky but in that totally natural way

that only Instagram models and food bloggers seem to pull off

All the girls who act like they woke up like this

to avoid getting berated for actually trying

or taking pride in their appearance.


We need to have flawless makeup

but look great without it.

Be gorgeous

but have no idea just how gorgeous.

Athletic build but not a health freak.

Skinny girl with a cheeseburger.

But if I order a salad it can’t be because

I genuinely enjoy them. I must have insecurities that are

just too much baggage for you right now.


To all the over analyzers, over thinkers,

overly regular girls.

To the girls who plan everything in a way

that will appear unplanned, so no one will know

that you just might care too much.

In a world that may not care at all.


Breath in. Breath out, and focus on

the uncontrollable truth of who you are.

You are hangnails and dark circles.

You are smudged eyeshadow and coffee

spilled on a fresh shirt in the morning.

You are not perfect. No one is. You are

perfectly you, standing at the edge of a world

that is unprepared to handle how strangely,

uniquely, and beautifully unperfect you are.


Embrace those who step up to the challenge of

unraveling the mystery of you. And do the same for them.


Sophia Baker


20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Seven

bottom of page