top of page
My Work: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureSophia Baker

A Letter to My Belly

Updated: Jan 13, 2023

You’ve always been there, right at the center of me. Always a bit too pudgy, round, wide, jiggly, FAT. There are reminders of you every day. Little rolls when I curl into a ball in bed. The button of my jeans piercing into the skin above my belly button. The gurgling, growling, howling sounds you make when I forget to eat. I can never forget that you are there. You will not go away. But maybe, just maybe, I don’t want you to. Every day you do good for me. Holding me together, all my pieces in their places. A little pooch right down at the bottom, keeping that precious organ safe and cushioned, because I am a vessel for life and all of that potential and beauty resides in you. Others want you flat, toned, ROCK HARD. But your softness makes me huggable. You keep meat on my bones, something to hang on to. Thank you for all these things you do and more. I vow to you that I will shift my perspective. It will take time, but I will learn to love you. Because you are me and I am you.


Sophia Baker




25 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page